Following a robust national recruitment process, the fourth designate independent Non-Executive Director has been appointed to Northamptonshire’s Integrated Care Board (ICB).

Northamptonshire’s ICB will be a new statutory body responsible for local NHS services, functions, performance and budgets. It will take on the statutory duties, staff and budgets of the current NHS Northamptonshire Clinical Commissioning Group as part of the wider Northamptonshire Integrated Care System – a transition which is expected to take effect from 1 July 2022.

The fourth designate independent Non-Executive Director to be appointed to the ICB will take up her new role from 19 May 2022 as part of a ‘shadow’ arrangement to ensure a smooth and well managed transition.  Dr Shade Agboola will be a full member of the unitary Board, as well as holding a particular responsibility for primary care. Shade is currently the Director of Public Health for Warwickshire County Council and will continue to hold this role alongside her non-executive appointment with the ICB. A fellow of the Faculty of Public Health she has over 11 years’ experience of working in public health and will bring a broad experience across health and local government as well as a fresh perspective working in the County for the first time.

Naomi Eisenstadt, Chair Designate of Northamptonshire ICB, said: “We hope you will all join us in congratulating Shade on her appointment and we look forward to working with Shade as we continue our journey together in Northamptonshire as an Integrated Care System.”

Toby Sanders, Chief Executive Designate of Northamptonshire ICB, added: “We would also like to thank the current NHCP and CCG teams for their working commitment in helping to establish shadow Integrated Care Board arrangements and their commitment to managing a smooth transition.”

This latest appointment follows the recruitment of three other ICB Non-Executive Directors in February 2022.

Click here to read more about our transition to Integrated Care System status in Northamptonshire.